Morning Musing

Ten minutes.

That’s how long I’ve sat looking at this blank page while sipping morning coffee and awaiting inspiration.

Five more minutes have passed and I’m on my second cup – still nothing.

My mind seems content to be silent and still.  Nothing presses me for release and my fingers don’t twitch in anticipation of rapid fire typing.

Perhaps there’s nothing within me this morning…nothing to share.

Perhaps I will just write.

Yesterday I was reminded that everyone doesn’t see the world the way I do and that I need to respect their view and not berate them for it.

I see through lenses shaped by 54 years of experiences, habits, beliefs, instruction, knowledge…. How can I expect someone to think the way I do when their vision has been shaped, not by my experiences, but by their own?

Everyone’s vision – of themselves and of the world around them – is shaped by life events that are unique to them.

We all see things differently.

Example: a butterfly

What comes to mind when you see a butterfly? I started to place a picture of one above this paragraph, but didn’t.  I wanted you to see your own butterfly, not one I provided for you.

What butterfly came to mind? I know one did.

What were the colors? Was it flying or at rest? Were its wings closed, pointing straight up, or opened flat like a solar panel? Was its proboscis (“tongue”) curled or stretched in search of nectar? Were its wings tattered or whole?

Do you see the butterfly as a creature? or as a creation? or have you really never given it much consideration?

If I shared my view of the butterfly that came to mind, I’m certain it would differ from your view.  Does that make my view wrong? or yours?

Does my view of the butterfly, or your view, change the truth of what a butterfly is, or its nature?

Is your view of the butterfly of no import because it’s different from my own?

If neither view changes the reality of the butterfly or its existence, why can we not share our sight and insight with mutual respect and grow in our ability to see more clearly and more fully what a butterfly is – and, thereby, come to appreciate, not only the butterfly, but each other and our individual and unique ways of seeing life and the world around us.

Leave a Reply

