Enough

NATIONAL WEATHER SERVICE DOPPLER RADAR WAS TRACKING A [sic] SEVERAL STRONG THUNDERSTORMS ACROSS NORTHWEST MIDDLE TENNESSEE. STORM MOVEMENT WAS NORTHEAST AT 45 MILES AN HOUR. HALF INCH SIZE HAIL…AND WINDS AROUND 40 MPH ARE EXPECTED WITH THIS STORM.

I knew storms were expected today.  100% chance was the forecast.  I knew some could be severe.

But, apparently I forgot: severe storms can bring hail.

Upon seeing the above mentioned weather statement, I headed outside to bring into shelter whatever was out there that I didn’t want damaged by hail – or blown about by wind.

It was the hail that concerned me the most.  This area is notorious for receiving hail damage.  The number of new roofs and siding on the houses is evidence enough.

In came potted plants, lawn chairs, a wheeled yard/work bucket…. Out remained pots too large to move, too heavy to carry – a cherished rosebush I’d moved our past 3 moves – and, of course, numerous ground-rooted things now in full bloom.

With a backward glance and a sigh, I headed indoors – I could only do what I could do and I had done that.

And, that would have to be enough.

Leave a Reply

