Easter – The Beginning and The Ending

Easter has ALWAYS been one of my favorite times of the year.

  • candy
  • chocolate
  • new, scratchy clothes (ok…that’s negative, not a plus)
  • baby chicks
  • Spring
  • flowers
  • pastel colors
  • Easter eggs
  • coloring eggs
  • Easter baskets
  • Ham
  • baked meat skins
  • Easter egg hunts
  • Easter songs at church
  • anticipation of CANDY
  • Aunts and Grandmothers who each gave us certain types of candy
  • biting the ears off of the chocolate bunny
  • spending time with family
  • hearing the story of Jesus’ resurrection and believing with all my heart that he did and that he did so for me – and for you

Easter signified newness and the beginning of so much

  • new life (physical as well as spiritual)
  • new religion
  • new way of living
  • the beginning of the end of our school year
  • the beginning of warm days and happy times outside
  • new flowers, colors, baby animals
  • the first acceptable day for stylish women to wear white shoes / carry white purses
  • barefoot season
  • relationship(s)

Easter also brought an end to things.

  • winter clothes were put away
  • dreary colors faded
  • waiting and wondering what the “Easter Bunny” would leave us
  • the sadness that accompanied Good Friday and the silence of Black Saturday
  • old ways
  • the old life
  • focus on death and dying, sin and hopelessness
  • cold rains
  • sequestered play
  • depending on my good works and right living to please God

This year Easter brings an end to my Lenten fast.  I am free to eat ketchup now. As much as I want, as often as I want.  The question is…do I want it?  Will I eat it?  And, if I do…why will I?  Because I can?

And, is “because I can” a good enough reason for indulging myself?  If it is, perhaps I’ve not learned as much from this fast as I hoped to.

I will tell you that prior to Easter morning, I set my huge antique wicker laundry basket in the living room floor so the “Easter Bunny” could easily find it should he/she/it decide to bring me ketchup for my basket this year.  After all, Easter baskets are small and bottles of ketchup are much larger than most chocolate bunnies or candy eggs. You understand my thinking, I’m sure.

Will I eat ketchup today? My fast is over and I am no longer bound to deny myself ketchup.

No…I won’t eat ketchup today.  Do I want to?  Oh, yes.  I do.  But, I will wait until tomorrow…. Or the next day.  Or, perhaps the day after.  There’s no rush.

I have enough ketchup to last me a long, long time.  🙂

Leave a Reply

