No More Cheese for Me

I’ve been known to eat some weird concoctions and in years past, to eat things less than healthy.

Health issues forced me to take a long look at what I was eating and what the food (or in some cases non-food) was doing to me.

Much time was invested in research. Eventually, the information gathered, along with the knowledge gained through trial and error, led me to change not only my diet, but my life as well.

It’s amazing what food can do to us.

I was surprised to learn that not everything I was eating could be defined as “food.”  Most packaged / processed foods contain additives that are in no way nutritious or beneficial to our bodies.

Don’t believe me? Read the ingredients.

And, when you read the ingredients remember this – “natural” isn’t always a good thing.  “All natural” foods are often full of pesticides and chemicals as well as genetically engineered ingredients (GMO = genetically modified organisms).  100% Organic – that’s the label to look for when choosing packaged foods.

And, if the label says “imitation” you’d better take a good look at the ingredients and be a savvy consumer.

After all, there’s a big difference between consuming pig anus and fried calamari.

Now that I have your attention…check out the 15 Grossest Things You’re Eating.

I’ll admit…it grossed me out enough that I’ll not eat cheese again.  Or, anything with brominated vegetable oil in it!

Mushrooms are not my fav food – at all.  And, after reading that the FDA (who’s job it is to protect us consumers) said it allows 19 maggots and 74 mites in a 3.5-ounce can of mushrooms…well, let’s just say…ICK! and no thank you!

And, who whats to eat Round Up??  Seriously?  No, it’s not something that shows up on the ingredients label. But most processed/packaged foods contain corn and/or soy derived ingredients which have been genetically modified to withstand heavy doses of the weed killer.

Yet another reason for me to be corn/soy free.

That’s part of the problem with labels – they don’t always tell the accurate story about what we’re putting into our bodies.

Oh, and if you think you’re doing yourself a favor by choosing foods with “natural flavoring” or colors, as opposed to those with artificial flavors or colors, you might want to think again. 😉

What about your children?  Girls (and boys, too) are developing alarmingly early and reproductive problems/disorders/diseases have become rampant. Could it be that milk isn’t what does a body good?  And, instead of asking “got milk?” we should be asking “got rBST free milk?”

When’s the last time you checked the ingredients in the loaf of bread you serve yourself/your family?  I just checked the bag I make Hubby’s lunches from.  Among the long and varied list I see “dough conditioner.”  Makes sense that commercial bread would need a dough conditioner.  But, does it tell me what that dough conditioner is?  No.  If it’s L-cysteine (commonly used as a dough conditioner), it’s made from dissolved…human hair or duck feathers.

Another good reason for me to be wheat/gluten free.  E-w-w-w.

I know what you’re saying.  100% organic foods cost more – usually a lot more.  And, they don’t taste as good…or we think they don’t because all this other stuff we’ve eaten has ruined our taste and ability to appreciate real food.

Stop and think – for just a moment.  How much do you spend on food? How much of what you purchase is packaged/processed?  Now, how much do you spend on medications (any and all for physical/emotional/mental/behavioral/etc), aids, doctor visits, illness (chronic or acute) for yourself and/or your family?

A change in foods consumed can (and will) make a difference in your health. And, you may find that you actually save money in the long run.  Healthier bodies and minds = less $$ spent on illness/medication/doctors.

Give it a try for 1 month and see what difference it makes in how you feel.

I dare you.

Leave a Reply

