Updates – Restart Later

Updating your computer is almost complete. Your computer needs to be restarted for the updates to take effect. Windows will restart your computer automatically in 14:24 minutes.  Do you want to restart your computer now?  Restart Now   Restart Later.

While working on yesterday’s blog post the above irritant appeared every 10 minutes or so.  And, if I didn’t address it’s question, the countdown continued from 15 to 0.  And, at 0 the computer would automatically restart.

That was NOT something I wanted to happen while I was in the midst of thinking/writing/creating.  So, instead of pausing a few minutes to allow the computer to complete its precious updating process, I continuously clicked on “Restart Later.” And, I griped about it – each time.

Hubby said, “Just let it go ahead and restart.”

My reply?

“NO!  That’s not what I want to do right now.  I want to finish what I’m working on.  It will have to wait.”

And, so for over an hour, I was interrupted by the little window that interrupted my attention and intruded on my turf.

And, so I put it off until later.

And, it dutifully kept popping up to remind me.

Time and time and time and time and time again….

Finally, I reached the point where it was creating more angst for me than holding out was worth.

So, I saved my work, closed my website, and restarted my computer.

I dealt with the issue.

I stopped putting it off.

I said, “Okay, let’s do this so I can get back to being productive.”

For 2 hours now, I have been hard at work with NO popups reminding me, delaying me, interfering with me, hindering my productivity, creating emotional issues for me, sidetracking me….

It feels good to be able to focus on the task at hand and move on to other things – to grow and be and do without this little reminder cropping up to remind me of something undone that needs to be done.  It feels good to be able to truly express myself and lean fully into what’s next for me.

Updating your psyche is almost complete. Your psyche needs to be restarted for the updates to take effect. Healing will restart your psyche automatically in 14:24 minutes.  Do you want to restart your psyche now?  Restart Now   Restart Later.

Reminders pop up.  Memories intrude.  We find it easier, or more convenient, to click “Restart Later” and hope “later” never comes.  Things are working okay – why change anything?

We say, “If these irritating reminders would just stop…go away…everything will be okay…I can focus okay if the memories will just…stop!”

But, they don’t stop.  The reminders continue to pop up, to interrupt, to interfere, to cause chaos with our emotions.

How much easier would it be if we just paused, clicked on “Restart now” and let the update happen?

Reminders happen for a reason.  Something needs to be addressed. Ignoring it will not fix it.

What’s bothering you?  What keeps popping up…intruding…interfering…causing chaos?

Stop putting it off…deal with it today.  Click “Restart now” and allow the update to begin.  You won’t regret it.  Your psyche will run so much more efficiently, safer, without crashes or chaos, and you will be free to focus on what’s important.

2 thoughts on “Updates – Restart Later

  1. Good post. I learn something totally new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always interesting to read articles from other writers and practice a little something from other web sites.

Leave a Reply

