Invalid Username/Password

No matter how many times I put in my correct password, “Invalid Username/Password” popped up.

So, I tried other password combinations, thinking I must have forgotten my password.

I even looked up the password and typed it in.

And, still I received the message “Invalid Username/Password.”

What was I doing wrong?!?

I sat stupefied, staring at the computer monitor.  “Invalid Username/Password” I repeated out loud.  The password was right.  That much was certain.

“Invalid Username…” I said aloud, and looked at my username.

It looked okay. It was my email address – everything was spelled right.  Mentally I typed out my email address as I carefully followed the letters typed in the “username” slot.   When I got to the end, my mind said “.com” and my eyes blinked. There was no “.com” at the end of my username.

I quickly typed that in, then my correct password, hit Enter, and guess what?!?  I was IN!

Passwords are important to internet access.

My computer requires a password and so does my email – and everything online that I’ve personalized in some way, or asked for access to.

Usernames are important, too.  It’s what identifies us to others online, and how we identify ourselves.  And, as I experienced all too well, using the correct username is important to gaining access to what’s ours.

What about life?  What usernames and passwords do we employ to gain access to what we feel belongs to us?

Usernames state who we are, who we perceive ourselves to be, or who we want others to see us to be.  Passwords are what we use to access what our username gives us implied right to.

Usernames (feel free to add your own)

  • Daughter
  • Son
  • Grandaughter
  • Grandson
  • Mother
  • Father
  • Grandmother
  • Grandfather
  • Friend
  • Boss
  • Doctor
  • Patient
  • Customer
  • Manager
  • Wife
  • Husband
  • Boyfriend
  • Girlfriend
  • Teacher
  • Student
  • Pastor/Clergy
  • Child
  • Teenager
  • Citizen
  • Sinner
  • Friend
  • Officer
  • Prisoner
  • Personal name/designation

Passwords (feel free to add your own)

  • any username listed above (when personal name is username)
  • rich
  • poor
  • please
  • thank you
  • hungry
  • bored
  • help
  • tears
  • sick
  • educated
  • illiterate
  • healthy
  • PMS
  • tired
  • frustrated
  • tantrum
  • teen
  • baby
  • child
  • $$$
  • $#!+
  • I’m sorry
  • forgive me
  • family
  • love
  • Jesus
  • member
  • friendly

How often do you use a username and password to obtain access to something or someone? How many times in the last hour?

Usernames and passwords are a way of life – have been since way before the advent of the computer/internet.

  • Followers of Jesus used usernames and passwords before the term “Christian” was coined.
  • Sentries demanded (and still demand) a “watchword” before allowing entrance.
  • “I come in the name of the king” provided both username and password.
  • Entrance into clubs and secret societies required usernames and passwords.
  • Signatures and identification/taxing numbers/symbols have served as usernames and/or passwords.
  • Signet rings and wax seals served as both usernames and passwords.
  • A baby’s cry says to her/his mom, I am needy (username) and I am yours (password).

Think: What usernames and passwords gain you access to the world you travel daily? What usernames and passwords allow others to gain access to you?

Leave a Reply

