Stained Glass Reflection

As I sat in church one bright sunny Sunday morning, a flash of light captured my attention.

I glanced to my left, one row up and across the aisle, to see where it came from and noticed Ron with his tablet on his lap.

I could not take my eyes from him or his choice of Bible.  I wondered what version he used and if he found it easier than flipping through a book.

And, I wondered why the screen was so colorful. I’d not seen scripture display such beautiful, rich colors before.  Usually the background is white and the words black or dark gray.

But, from where I sat, this one had brilliant blue, royal purple, bright yellow, bold red, verdant green….

Curious and, I’ll admit, a bit mesmerized, I continued to look at the colorful display.

Then, it dawned on me – what I was seeing was the reflection of a stained glass window as the sun kissed it and shown through.

Scripture that attracts, dazzles and mesmerizes – now there’s a thought. And, a far more interesting thought it is than Scripture bound by black and white, hidden and confined within the covers of a book.

How much more appealing would Scripture be if it lives and speaks and dances in living color?

Paul, the writer of much of the New Testament, understood the need for Scripture that was more than written words on paper.  He spoke of living tablets that display Scripture for all to see, and hear, and understand.

Imagine what it would be like if everyone who professed to follow Jesus reflected his light as clearly and as beautifully as Ron’s tablet reflected the colors of the stained glass church windows.

What difference would it make in the lives of those around me if MY life openly and beautifully reflected Jesus’ beauty, justice, equality, mercy, grace, patient understanding, peace, joy, love, acceptance, purity, humility…?

I am silenced by that question – and deeply humbled, for I know my life is more like the Scripture bound by two covers, written in black on white pages, and kept closed until someone opens me.

What of you?

Are you a tablet openly reflecting beauty? Or, are you a closed book dealing only in black and white, bound by two covers: law and tradition?

Before you answer – think about it.  You might be surprised by the answer.  I know I was.

…known and read by everyone. You show that you are a letter from Christ…written not with ink but with the Spirit of the living God, not on tablets of stone but on tablets of human hearts. (2 Corinthians 3:2b-3 NIV)

Leave a Reply

