Faith is a Verb

A friend of mine, who is not a pastor, preaches today.  The topic?

Faith.

I read the final draft of the sermon last night.

It stirred me.

At first, I wasn’t sure why.

It wasn’t an emotional appeal to have faith, or to increase our faith. There would be no finger pointing and no Bible thumping during the sermon.

It stated simply and plainly what faith is and what it looks like when acted on – or activated.

Not only did the sermon stir me, it knocked the breath out of me as well.

It wasn’t until hours later that I realized why the sermon impacted me so.

Faith is a verb.

Faith = Action.

That’s one of the first things stated in the sermon.  In fact, I believe it was point #1.

There were no verses listed to back up that statement and no elaboration was made scripturally.

But, the point was made and it poked me – hard.  (Perhaps conviction IS the work of the Holy Spirit after all, and all the speaker needs to do is…speak simple truth.)

I searched scripture for verses to back up Faith = Action.

It didn’t take me long to find the first.  Others followed quickly.

The definition of faith given in the Bible is found in Hebrews 11:1

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen.

If faith is action, as evidenced by the above scriptures, and faith is the assurance of things hoped for (as defined above)…where’s all the evidence of God’s promised kingdom and a better life?

As I look at the world around me, I think someones’ faith lacks something important – action.

Remember – if I point at you, I have three fingers pointing back at myself.

It’s said that we are the only Bible some people will ever read…the only sermon some will ever hear.

How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? (Romans 10:14 – ESV)

Do you have faith?  What is your faith doing?  Faith that is not active is dead.

We say God loves, God forgives, God cares, Jesus saves, the Kingdom of God, the Way of Jesus, and on and on….

We pray for and await the coming of God’s Kingdom.

Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done, on earth as it is in heaven. (Matthew 6:10)

The Heavenly Kingdom isn’t something that’s yet to come.

It’s here.  It’s now.

It’s faith in action.

It’s what draws others in to learn of him in whom they have never heard so they can believe in him in whom they have not believed.

Faith without works/action is dead.

What is your faith doing right now?

Leave a Reply

