Overwhelmed Vs So What

What do you do when you are overwhelmed by circumstance and situation…overloaded by responsibilities…frustrated by impossibilities and expectations…exhausted physically as well as mentally?

You crash and burn.  That’s what you do.

When the going gets tough, the tough get going.  Yeah, I know…I’ve heard that most of my life and tried to live it.

It works for a while and then something happens – something subtle that begins a downward spiral.

The spiral leads to a crash every time.

So, what do you do when life overwhelms and frustration mounts? What do you do when responsibilities, expectations, impossibilities stretch you to the breaking point?

Do you snap? Break? Crash and burn?

Then, wallow in self-pity until life forces you to pick up the pieces and go again?

The way I see it, there are two choices.

  1. Continue on as you are and cycle through time and time again.
  2. Change your attitude and outlook.

I can only change ME.  You can only change YOU.

I can’t always change my circumstances or situation.  I may blame myself for it, but I can’t always change it.  Sometimes it is what it is and we just have to make the best of things.

What I CAN change is my attitude and outlook. And, so can you.

How?

Hmm…I’ll elaborate, using ME as an example.

Instead of allowing frustration to build to where I am overwhelmed, I need to begin early…in the beginning and develop a “SO WHAT?” attitude.

I can’t always relieve myself of responsibilities (some assumed and some real). When it all boils down to it, I’m only responsible for ME.  But, because my “ME” borders on the “MEs” of others, I have accepted responsibilities and taken on the care of others – some of which I probably should relinquish.  So, pardon me if I let go some of my assumed responsibilities and develop a “so what?” attitude toward those responsibilities that belong to others.

I can’t always fulfill expectations (of myself and of others). Just like you, I have to be true to myself.  I can’t even fulfill my own expectations – don’t be surprised when I disappoint you.  I hate it when I do…it makes me feel really bad when I don’t measure up and am not the person you think I am…or I want you to believe me to be…or, I want to be.  I didn’t measure up? So what?

I can’t always circumvent frustration. Life happens and it doesn’t always schedule itself at opportune times.  Interruptions interrupt – that’s what they do.  Physical fatigue and emotional/mental exhaustion magnify what is. Truth is, I’d rather frustrate you than to find myself frustrated, but I’m too nice a person to allow that.  Besides, I want you to like me.  You don’t? So what?

I can’t do the impossible.  You see…”impossible” means “NOT possible.” I have limits.  As much as I might like to be Super Woman…I’m not.  Perhaps you weren’t aware of that fact…now you are.  Believe me, it was hard to admit, even to myself. Truth is – so what?

I can’t always shut up or shut out that little voice within me that criticizes me, condemns me, convicts me for not doing enough, for not going the extra mile, for not sacrificing, for not taking on one more thing, for thinking of my own needs and wants, for not…. (You know…not so long ago I thought that little voice was God’s Spirit pushing me to be better, do more, grow….)  To that irrepressible little voice that drags me down and nags me – SO WHAT?!?

I can’t do for you what you can do for yourself.  I shouldn’t have to.  I have my own stuff to attend do.  Be responsible for yourself, or, I promise, the frustration you create for me will be passed on to you ten fold.  And, if you feel some of my frustration…so what?

See what I mean?  It’s all about changing attitude and outlook.

You don’t agree?

So what!?!

😉

One thought on “Overwhelmed Vs So What

  1. Pingback: the sacred partners of desire, expectation, disappointment, frustration, blame, relaxation, & learning | power of language blog: partnering with reality by JR Fibonacci

Leave a Reply

