As You Wish

As I struggled through an extremely difficult and emotional situation I cried out to God in my tears,

This isn’t the way I’d planned…not the way I’d wanted things to go!

A soft, almost imperceptible voice whispered to my heart,

What if it’s going the way I planned…the way I want things to go?

Stopped dead in my thoughts, I bowed my heart and prayed,

Not my will but Thine be done.

Nothing changed about the awfully painful situation.  What did change was my focus, my understanding of it, my place in it, and my responsibility to it.

I am called to love – not to have things go my way.

As You wish, Lord.

Leave a Reply

