Black Stretch Limo

One thing remained – cutting the ditch. With mower in hand, I headed out to the road to begin the task.  I was tired and “filthy dirty”, and I smelled like it.

As I cut, I glanced up the road and saw a large black vehicle moving slowly down the hill.  It was a shiny, black stretch limo.  And, when I say “stretch” I mean it was l – o – n – g. Seemed to take up the whole side yard…that’s how great its length seemed to me when, later, it slowly passed me.

Curious, but not to be detoured from my task, I reached the end of the ditch and turned to head back downhill.  The limo pulled slowly beside me and down the street we went together.

The passenger windows were all darkly tinted – all I could see was the driver.  It slowed to a stop at the corner and I rounded the corner to cut the front ditch (the house sits on a corner lot) and the limo started to follow me.  But, it stopped.

That street is a dead end so the limo driver had no choice but to back up and head back up the street.  He did this slowly, ever so slowly.

As I reached the end of the ditch, I turned and headed back across the front and saw that the limo was sitting there…unmoving.

And, it didn’t move again until I was alongside it and then it slowly moved up the street, keeping parallel with me.

Weird.

When I reached the point where I was to turn around, I did. The limo stopped.

And, it waited.

I looked back over my shoulder several times, curious.  Was the guy lost and hoping I would approach and give directions?

Who was I kidding…this was a limo driver. Don’t they know the area?  Besides, I was “filthy dirty” and stunk. Whoever was in the limo certainly wouldn’t want the likes of me even approaching the limo, especially not saying, “Hey, how ya doin’? Can I help ya? Are y’all lost? Looking for someone?”

So I kept on cutting.

As I reached the end and headed back uphill I saw that the limo had moved up the street a little, just to the edge of the yard and stopped yet again.

I stopped and watched.  The limo pulled slowly forward and stopped.  Then again a few feet and stopped again.

What was up with that?

A few more swipes at the ditch and I would be finished and I desired “finished” far more than I wanted to know what they were up to and who they were and why they were acting so weirdly.

I turned around and headed back downhill and across the front, turned around and headed back up.  When I looked again, the limo had stopped in front of a house 3 doors up from where I was.  The limo driver was standing outside his door and was looking down the street.

At me.

I started to wave.  Yes, I did.

But, I didn’t.  I stopped and stared at him, too.

Then I turned around and headed back to work.  One more swipe and it would be finished.

As I headed back uphill, I saw that the limo was still parked on the road in front of the house 3 doors up.  The driver was still standing beside his door, hands clasped in front of him, looking my way.

He watched me as I pushed the mower out of the ditch and into the driveway. I gave him a final glance and entered the yard.

After I put away the mower, I grabbed the broom and headed out to the driveway to sweep it off.

Of course, what I really wanted was opportunity to watch a bit more, but the limo was gone.

Curiosity remains.

A limo in our neighborhood?  That’s a first for me.

I’ve always wondered about people who tool about town in a limo.  I know it’s a good way to transport a lot of people and party at the same time.  And, it’s roomy and comfortable and you don’t get all scrunched together and crinkle your clothing….  And, it’s possible to work while traveling….

But, why would anyone ride in a black stretch limo?  The only reason I can imagine is for the reaction it causes in people who see it.

My first reaction was – who’s that idiot spending all that money tooling around in that big shiny rig?

My second?  Who does he/she think he/she is?  Somebody special?

I guess that’s what it all boils down to – who we THINK we are.

Who do you think you are?

As he thinks in his heart, so is he. Proverbs 23:7 NKJV

Leave a Reply

