The Sum of Things

Contrary to popular belief there’s nothing wrong with being old school.

In the age in which I grew up, we didn’t use calculators for simple addition, subtraction, multiplication or division.  We used a pencil and piece of paper and let our brains do the work.

Calculators and adding machines were reserved for multiple entries of large numbers and usually used only in business classes where we practiced making financial entries and closing out accounts.

Like I said, there’s nothing wrong with being old school.  However, when the old brain doesn’t compute as well as she once did, there’s nothing wrong with bringing out the calculator to confirm or refute the totals.

This is especially true when I’m working on my time sheet. I want to be accurate down to the minute. Minutes = $$, for me and for my employer. I don’t want to shortchange myself or overcharge her, so I’m diligent about accuracy.

And, so, I go old school and new age.

Old school is tried and true. The pencil fits my hand perfectly.  The calculator…well…it would do fine if they would stop upgrading and changing the darn things – phones, I mean.

The calculator I was familiar with was on my old cell phone…the one that no longer works.  The one I have now is a different type phone (not a smart phone by any stretch of the imagination) and though the calculator works the same, the “feel” of the phone is different in my hands.

And that difference makes all the difference when it comes to ease and accuracy.

For example – I was making entries to double check my addition and I kept coming up with an odd answer.  I would key in “5” and my total would be…”5.” Whatever number I entered…that became my answer.

I never entered a number larger than 1 digit but I entered many single digit numbers and my total never grew larger than one digit.  Even if you add 1+1+1+1+1 long enough you come up with a double digit number…you know?

But, I never did.

No matter how many numbers I input, the output remained singular.

What in the…?

I realized I wasn’t adding anything.  I was equaling everything.

Whatever I entered became my total.

I didn’t enter 2 + 3 + 6 +.  No, I entered 2=(2) 3=(3) 6=(6).

My entry became my reality.

My guess is that your entries have become your reality as well.

And, I have a feeling you, too, wonder why things don’t grow, improve…add up.

Maybe, instead of adding to (relationships, etc) you’re just summing things up without considering the accumulated value and true worth.

When we consider only one (self) and don’t add the other elements (relationally, etc), we find that the sum equals only one (self) and we miss out on the benefits others would have provided if added together.

The numbers on my time sheet looked a lot better when I began adding things together and moved beyond summing things up before all things were considered.

The sum of all things provides an accurate picture – and a true reality.  And, that’s what we want – in work, in life, in relationships.

Leave a Reply

