Veterans Day

Veterans Day is a federal U.S. holiday that is observed on November 11.  My dad called it Armistice Day and as a child I heard it called Remembrance Day.

It marks the anniversary of the end of World War I.

(The last U.S. World War I veteran died in 2011 at age 110.)

It’s interesting to note that major battles of World War I formally ended at the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month of 1918, when the Armistice with Germany (or cease fire order) went into effect.

Veterans Day isn’t the same as Memorial Day.

No, Veterans Day celebrates the service of all U.S. military veterans. Memorial Day remembers the men and women who died while serving.

Who will you celebrate today?  And, how will you celebrate them?

List those you know (family, friends, church, work, neighbors) who serve/served in the U.S. military.

I’m thankful for our veterans, present and past.  It’s because of them that I have many of the freedoms I enjoy daily.  Freedoms like…the freedom of speech and the ability to express myself and my thoughts freely and openly without fear of censorship or reprisal.

What freedoms do you enjoy? Thank a veteran today. He/she helped make it possible.

Leave a Reply

