Does Entropy Disavow Evolution?

My understanding of “evolution” is this: a gradual process in which changes occur that produce a different, better, more complex organism, idea, product.

As a child, I refused to believe evolution – how could pond slime become…human, or anything else for that matter? It made no sense to me. I would wander my neighborhood in search of that which was evolving. But everything I found that was different from others like it proved to be less, not more – flawed, not better – weaker, not stronger.

The absurdity of evolution rankled me in high school as I was forced to learn and repeat for lessons and exams. Science…natural and biology…was my favorite subject, but I wondered about the intelligence of anyone who would truly embrace evolution.

And, I wondered about the seriousness and accuracy of science and scientific studies, of scientific laws and theories. And, as much as I wanted to trust the information and those providing it, and believe as fact what I was seeing, hearing and reading – I knew I couldn’t.

Too much “fact” was based on speculation.

I was a rock hound and a collector of fossils. Fossils, I was told, proved the reality of evolution and evolutionary ages. However, what I plainly saw in them was proof of a world wide catastrophic event.

The idea of looking at a fossil and declaring it so many millions of years old…a sliver of bone from the toe of a yet unknown dinosaur, was absurd to me.

Still is.

Enter entropy.

Entropy = chaos, disorder, deterioration, loss of information…a tendency for all matter and energy in the universe to evolve toward a state of inert uniformity*.

Live Science explains entropy in 200 words.  Here’s an excerpt:

Time only moves forward because a property of the universe called “entropy,” roughly defined as the level of disorder, only ever increases, and so one cannot reverse a rise in entropy after it has occurred. The fact that entropy persistently increases is a matter of logic: The possible disordered arrangements of particles far outnumber the possible ordered arrangements, and so as things change, they tend to fall into disarray. (Read more.)

Of course, for evolution to survive, someone must come up with an explanation for the exemption of living things from entropy’s chaos.

And, someone has.

In a study titled “Natural selection for least action” published in the Proceedings of The Royal Society A., Ville Kaila and Arto Annila of the University of Helsinki describe how the second law of thermodynamics can be written as an equation of motion to describe evolution, showing how natural selection and the principle of least action can be connected by expressing natural selection in terms of chemical thermodynamics. In this view, evolution explores possible paths to level differences in energy densities and so increase entropy most rapidly. Thus, an organism serves as an energy transfer mechanism, and beneficial mutations allow successive organisms to transfer more energy within their environment. (Read more.)

As I grow older, I find that my desire to rightly understand my environment and my place in it gives way to a greater desire to embrace my environment and find my place in it.

Perhaps…yes, perhaps I am growing…maturing…changing…(dare I say it?) evolving. It will be interesting to see what new emerges from this old…. Alas…I’ve not millions of years to await the fruition of my evolution.

Ah…it’s good that God has a better way – old to new instantly, changed in the twinkling of an eye. No need to wait eons or even generations.

Bye-bye science and good riddance evolution. I’ll put my faith in God. God says it and BOOM, it happens. Works for me.

Which, by faith, do you hold to be true? By faith? Yes…evolution is not observable, repeatable, or refutable and so does not qualify as a scientific fact or theory. If one holds evolution to be true…they do so by faith.

😉

*(inert uniformity = unable to move, deficient in active properties, lacking a usual/anticipated chemical or biological action – in other words can’t act, interact or affect.)

Leave a Reply

