Craving Ketchup

Last year I gave up Ketchup – first for Lent, and then because I simply couldn’t stand the taste of it.

For the past 10 months or so I’ve rejected ketchup (except occasionally with McD’s fries).  But, yesterday I found myself craving ketchup. I wanted fried fish and french fries AND ketchup smothering everything…like I used to eat it.

Odd.

But, my craving was so strong that I gave in…fried the fish (had potato chips instead of fries) and smothered all in ketchup.

Yep, I gave into my craving…fully, completely…utterly.

It was delicious.  Apparently there was something in the ketchup, the oil, the fish…something that met a need my body had at the time. It satisfied me.

When I think of eating ketchup now, I have no appetite for it…no taste for it.

So, what does ketchup have in it that my body may have been lacking?

Ketchup contains…tomatoes, vinegar, sugar, spices….  Hmm, of that list the only thing that contains anything with any nutritive properties would be “tomatoes.”

Tomatoes contain vitamin C.  I eat an orange (or two) every day.  So, I should not be C deficient.  I eat a lot of fresh fruits and veggies.  What else do tomatoes contain?

From online research, it appears tomatoes provide a lot of vitamins and minerals that our bodies need.

And, I discovered that craving tomatoes and/or tomato products (like ketchup, spaghetti sauce, pizza sauce) is called tomatophagia and it can mean you have an iron deficiency.

Hmm, that might explain why I’ve been craving beef and (ick) liver (of all things)….

From two lists of iron rich foods I found online ( 1, 2), I learned that the foods I’m eating contain iron…just not as much as I thought.

Well, there’s only one way to remedy this and that’s to include iron rich foods in my diet…and I’ll bring out the old cast iron skillet for all of my cooking for a while.

In a way, it’s good to know why I craved ketchup.  It’s not something I want to become addicted to ever again.  And, it’s good to know that a food craving can indicate a deficiency the body recognizes.  It’s like a warning light on the car that clicks on and alerts us that service is needed.

My oil’s not low…apparently my iron is.

Now where did I put that black, 10 lb cast iron skillet?

Leave a Reply

