5 Days Below Freezing

To say I’m ready for Spring would be an understatement.

As the days lengthen, I find my thoughts turning more and more toward outdoor activities and plans for those activities.

Gardening (a vegetable garden as well as flower beds), yard work, walking…all these and more call to me, especially when the temperature is forecast to rise high enough for me to venture out for several hours of sustained activity.

Just such a day was forecast yesterday.  It hadn’t rained in several days and the temperature had been above freezing for at least as long.  The ground was thawed and the high was forecast to be in the mid 60’s. Perfect weather to dig the garden I plan here in my backyard.

A day of outdoor activity was planned and I excitedly rose to greet the sunshine and move my morning quickly toward activity outside.

A quick look at our forecast for the remainder of the week stopped me dead in my tracks.  There was a special weather statement.

...LONG PERIOD OF BELOW FREEZING TEMPERATURES EXPECTED THIS WEEK...

What? When did this come about?  Why didn’t I know of this earlier? I check the weather and forecast several times a day…how did this slip up on me?

The special weather statement went on to say:

AN ARCTIC COLD FRONT WILL MOVE THROUGH THE MID STATE ON
TUESDAY...BRINGING A PROLONGED PERIOD OF SUBFREEZING TEMPERATURES
TO MIDDLE TENNESSEE. TEMPERATURES ARE EXPECTED TO REMAIN BELOW
FREEZING ACROSS MUCH OF THE MID STATE FOR UP TO 5 DAYS FROM
TUESDAY THROUGH SATURDAY. LOWS IN THE SINGLE DIGITS AND TEENS ARE
EXPECTED EACH DAY...WITH HIGHS ONLY REACHING THE 20S AND 30S.
GUSTY WINDS WILL MAKE IT FEEL EVEN COLDER AT TIMES...WITH WIND
CHILLS DOWN TO NEAR ZERO BY THURSDAY AND FRIDAY.

…below freezing for up to 5 days…YIKES!

As I sipped my first cup of coffee, I pondered what that meant for my Monday plans.  And, I growled a soft “grrrr” at the interruption as well as at the returning cold temperatures.

Nothing I could do about either – no point in wasting energy on what I couldn’t help or change.  Energy and activity needed to be invested in what mattered.

In what mattered….

What did matter?

Focus changed when I began to ponder that question.

What does matter? To you…right now?

Why does it matter?

You may find that your focus changes when you take time to ponder those questions.

Leave a Reply

