Mardi Gras

Today is the culmination of several days (dare I say weeks?) of parades and festivities – of indulgences of the physical, visual and culinary type.

Parades began on February 15.  And, they end today on Mardi Gras.

Mardi Gras is also know as Fat Tuesday.

Today is the culmination of Carnival and the last chance to indulge ones self in that which one will give up for Lent, should one choose to give up something.

As I write this (Saturday morning prior to Fat Tuesday), I am as yet uncertain whether I will honor Lent this year. And, if I do what I will give up.

Whatever it is, it will be something that will move me forward as a follower of Jesus…move me closer to being in step with what Jesus taught…how Jesus lived…the Way that Jesus represented.

And, whatever it is, it will be in keeping with recognizing Jesus as Sovereign of my life and sovereign over all I am and have.

Will I take today as an opportunity to live large?  No…my today will be spent in reflection of how I will spend the next “40” days of Lent and who I wish to arise as come Easter morning.

Leave a Reply

