Farther Than I Can See

How far can you see?

From where I sit, my sight is limited.  Walls surround me and the one window within view…the blinds on it are drawn.

I know there is life beyond these walls that block my farsight and inhibit my foresight.  I know because I hear what I cannot see.

If I move, my ability to see changes from nearsightedness to farsightedness.

If I move to where I can see beyond the bounds of home and beyond the boundaries of “me” I can see where and how my neighbors live – and beyond that the environment in which we move.  And, beyond that…I can see the horizon in places where objects and buildings don’t block my view. And, I can see to the corner, but not around it.

Over the horizon and around the corner are farther than I can see.

And, that’s where tomorrow lies – and not only tomorrow.  Over the horizon and around the corner is where my next breath…thought…moment lies.

…farther than I can see.

Leave a Reply

