Final Day of Lent 2014

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God? Or am I trying to please people? If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.” Galatians 1:10 (NIV)

Six and a half weeks ago I began my blog post with Galatians 1:10, just as I’ve begun this one.

It was the first day of Lent and a long journey stretched before me.

Galatians 1:10 was the platform from which I launched my 2014 Lenten journey.

This journey has taken me into myself and beyond – into the mind and heart of Jesus.  And, it has revealed much about both. Some…I knew already.  Other things…I thought I knew but was mistaken about.  And, much…well…I had/have a lot yet to learn.

Today marks the final day of my Lenten “fast” where I “gave up” seeking the approval of others.

How have I done?

Ha!

Let’s just say this journey doesn’t end with Easter’s sunrise.

Easter simply marks the beginning of the next stretch of my journey into becoming someone who seeks God’s approval above all and chooses to live above and beyond the noise and clatter of the demands for the approval of those around me.

May God give me the strength, the courage, the wisdom, and the foresight to speak, the to refrain from speaking, to act, to love, to live in truth, seeking only God’s approval even if that means I let the chips fall where they may and those around me wag their heads in disapproval and misunderstanding.

Resurrection morning is coming and with it, the power of Spirit Living.

Leave a Reply

