A Near Miss

For the first time in a long time, I almost missed posting here.  In fact, it was 9 pm yesterday when I finally sat down to finish a post I had begun the day before.

It would have been all too easy to just let yesterday be a no post day.  Few would have noticed. And, less would have cared.

But, I would have known.

And, if I’d not posted, I would have disappointed myself…would have let myself down.

Disappointing others is one thing.  Disappointing myself is another.

Others may have plans and agendas for me, expectations and ideas of who they want me to be and how. But, they don’t really know me or what God is doing in my life and through me.  They don’t know the disciplines necessary if I’m to become.

I know.

John Ortberg said: “I am disappointed with myself. I am disappointed not so much with the particular things I have done as with the aspects of who I have become. I have a nagging sense that all is not as it should be.”  (The Life You’ve Always Wanted)

Leave a Reply

