Pocket Hose Review

Yesterday’s post shared how Pocket Hose came to the rescue when I needed more hose length in order to water my garden.

The Pocket Hose was purchased with a task far different in mind. It was to attach to my kitchen sink and run out the door to the garden – but, the right size attachment to fit my faucet wasn’t available…anywhere.  My thought was that the lack of rigidity would be a plus as I snaked it from the faucet, down the cabinet and out the back door.

Perhaps it would have been.  But, I think I would have been dissatisfied and disappointed.

The Pocket Hose, when connected to the end of two regular type hosepipes, presented me with a problem I didn’t foresee when I purchased it – a problem I still would have had if I’d been able to connect it to the kitchen faucet.

When attempting to use it to water the garden without a wand or spray nozzle, I found it too snakelike for my liking.  It was wiggly and soft – difficult to hold in one hand and create a spray with my thumb in the opening.  I opted to place the Pocket Hose as the center hosepipe and move one of the regular hoses to the end.  The rigid pipe was much easier to handle than the Pocket Hose.

While the Pocket Hose is a bit different than I thought it would be (and to be honest, I’m not sure I really thought through what it would be like to use one), it’s an interesting tool that (so far) works well in the passive role in which it’s assigned.

The only things I dislike about it (so far) are that

  • to spray anything, a sprayer attachment of some type is required,  (The old thumb in the opening doesn’t work well for the Pocket Hose because the hose is too flexible. Of course, the advertisements show it used with a wand or sprayer.)
  • and it’s recommended that you disconnect the Pocket Hose, drain it and take it INDOORS when not in use. (That’s time consuming on both ends of a chore – time I prefer to spend on other things and will most likely just leave the hose connected.)

Would I purchase another Pocket Hose? Probably not.  I wouldn’t have purchased the one I have if I’d not planned to connect it to my kitchen faucet.  The fact that it doesn’t kink is, however, a major plus.  And, and it’s lightweight…easy to carry…space saving when stored….

There are a few definite pluses…if I’m not careful I might talk myself into purchasing another…. But, no…the fact that it needs to receive more care than I’m accustomed to giving garden hoses makes me leery of investing more $ in something that may not last long at all.

I want a garden hose that will last YEARS (and years) without special care. I’m a rough and tumble sort of gardener and I expect my tools to take the use (and abuse) I give them.

As I see it, the Pocket Hose is more of an occasional conversation piece than a garden tool and would (perhaps) work well for small areas needing light watering…condos or townhouses with little or no outdoor storage.

There’s one thing that really bothers me about the Pocket Hose and I hesitate to mention it but here goes.

The instructions are on the backside of the cardboard display that’s wrapped around the hose and INSIDE the tightly sealed package.  In other words – there was hidden information that could (probably would) have changed my mind about purchasing the Pocket Hose if I’d had access to it.

Information like:

  • NOTE:  To prolong the life of your Pocket Hose Ultra, completely drain and ALWAYS store INDOORS when not in use.
  • QR Code (I thought the purpose of the QR was to provide consumers information PRIOR to purchase – apparently not.)
  • WARNING: DO NOT use this product for commercial applications, in hot water applications, or high pressure applications (such as a pressure washer). Doing so may cause serious personal injury and/or damage or destroy the product. (–So, what happens if you use the hose, go inside for lunch, the hose warms and the water becomes hot, you are using a sprayer attachment and when you turn the water back on and pressure builds…the water in the hose will be hot…will the hose…burst??)
  • WARNING: For GENERAL outdoor use ONLY in applications under 80psi. (Um…general household water supplies are between 40psi and 80psi from what I’ve read online. What happens when a spray nozzle is attached to the end of a Pocket Hose??)
  • WARNING:  DO NOT leave this product unattended when it is in use or under pressure.
  • WARNING: Strangulation hazard.
  • WARNING: NEVER stretch or expand the hose when empty or not under water pressure. Hose will snap back if stretched and released and may cause serious injury.
  • WARNING: DO NOT drink from this or any garden hose.
  • Keep out of reach of children or pets.

As I said, none of the above information was available to me as I stood in Home Depot’s garden center and pondered purchasing the hose.

Believe me, I looked.

Extricating the hose required the use of a sharp knife which created (in my opinion) an unnecessary and real risk to not only myself but to the hose as well.  It was only after the package was cut open and the hose was removed that the information became visible.

In my opinion the negative outweighs the positive where my needs and desires are concerned.

So, my advice is: Buyers be aware before you buy.

Leave a Reply

