Turned Off and Tuned Out

I stopped watching “the news” a couple of years ago.

It was one of the best things I’ve ever done.

My stress level went way down.

Why be informed (constantly) about things I can’t do anything about?

Don’t tell me “it’s important to be informed.” I don’t buy that lie anymore.

“This just in.” “Breaking news.” “Stay tuned.” “You don’t want to miss this.”

No thanks. I prefer not.

Why would I (or anyone) want to watch something that angers me, raises my blood pressure and sends my stress level through the roof? And, why would I care to learn about things that have nothing to do with me (no, they don’t) and don’t interest me?

News I would like to hear about is not reported, or at best given a brief sideline somewhere.

My “knowledge of” a matter is not going to change what’s happening. And, it’s not going to change my opinion or my vote.

I’ve enough on my plate without piling on things I can do nothing about.

I don’t need a constant flow of urgently issued negativity wrapped up in the guise of “news.”

This is not about free speech or freedom of the press.  I’m all for that.  Believe me – that’s part of the wonder of living in the good ol’ US of A.

This is about the freedom to turn off and unplug and refuse to be drawn into things that are not healthy (for me), do not promote happiness (mine), cause stress (to me), and that provide no opportunity to better self or community.

What brought about this rant? a 10 second blurb of nonsense on Fox News last evening. A varied group had gathered to discuss a topic loaded with emotion (apparently for them and others) and full of venom (for the individual thought to have embraced his captors).

I’ve no patience when someone says they know what they would do if in the shoes/situation of another. When I heard these people say that if they were held captive and tortured, they would do everything they could to escape no matter what happened to them…one word comes to mind and it’s a word I don’t say often.

FOOL.

Make that “arrogant fool.”

Nobody knows what they will do in a given situation until they experience it.

The REAL news was that our President gave in to the demands of the enemy and paid the ransom for this guy.

I thought the US had a policy against such.

Seems to me that should have been the news discussed amongst the intellectuals around that Fox News table.  And, perhaps it was when I wasn’t listening.

And, that’s what I do best where the news is concerned.

I don’t listen and I don’t buy into what they tell me is important.  Who decides what’s news worthy anyway?

My emotional energy is better invested where it matters – on things and people I care about and am responsible for.

Feeling stressed?  Turn off and tune out of the news for a while and take this advice:

Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything; tell God your needs, and don’t forget to thank him for his answers. If you do this, you will experience God’s peace, which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will keep your thoughts and your hearts quiet and at rest as you trust in Christ Jesus. And now, brothers, as I close this letter, let me say this one more thing: Fix your thoughts on what is true and good and right. Think about things that are pure and lovely, and dwell on the fine, good things in others. Think about all you can praise God for and be glad about. (Philippians 4:6-8 TLB)

Leave a Reply

