7 – the Perfect Number

This morning when I rose from sleep, I made my obligatory stop by the bathroom.

The toilet paper roll is IN the wall directly across from the toilet – quite a reach for someone my height and an impossible reach for someone shorter than I.

As I sat and pondered the mystery of the placement of the toilet paper roll (60+ years ago when the house was built) I noticed that the 2 end sections were crinkled and shadowed in such a way that the paper appeared to have a large, perfectly formed number 7 across it.

I also pondered the mystery of that.

And, I also pondered the fact that I would rip the 7 and its accompanying sheets off of the roll and…well…you know…there’s no mystery to ponder there.

“It’s a sign,” my sleepy mind said.

“A sign of what?” I asked my sleepy mind.

“Take a picture of it and post it on Facebook,” my sleepy mind suggested.

I’ll admit…I actually pondered doing so but quickly realized my camera / phone was in another room and to leave where I was I needed that 7.

I deemed that 7 is indeed the perfect number and made perfectly good use of it.

A sign…indeed….

In numerology, the number 7 is a seeker.

As a kabbalistic concept, Seven is the number of the natural world.

Mathematically speaking, seven is an impressive number with meaning and abilities way too deep for me to ponder or understand.

The Bible contains a multitude of 7s – from beginning to end.

Yes, the 7 noted on the toilet paper this morning was indeed a sign.

It was a sign that I didn’t need to think up a post for today, the 5th day of the 7th month at 7:00 a.m. on Saturday, the 7th day of the week.

Leave a Reply

