Steel Toed Shoes

Dry weather had eliminated the need to cut grass for two weeks.  But, with the arrival of rain, grass began to grow again.

It was time to pull out the mower and take it for a walk around the yard – and, hook up the weed-wacker and sling some line.

The problem was I had a problem toe and couldn’t wear any shoes other than flip flops.  As we all know (or should), flip flops and lawn mowers are a recipe for disaster.

Enter Daughter with a possible solution.

“I’m going to check out the new Walmart north of town…just opened a couple of days ago…hope to find some work shoes. Want to go with me?” she asked.

I did. I was to cut Mom’s grass later that day – I had promised and you KNOW you can’t break a promise to your mom!.

After looking through the boy’s shoes (I prefer boy’s shoes because the toe base is often wider than women’s) and coming up empty, I scanned the women’s shoes to see if there might be something I could wear.  Or, something cheap that I could cut the toe out of.

Nothing.  Notta.  No way.  (Who’s idea was it that women’s shoes should come to a point at the toes??  Hello…I have FIVE toes on both of my feet, not one large toe in the center of the end of my foot!)

As an afterthought, I moved to the men’s work shoes along the wall…you know…the steel-toed boots that take a licking and keep on kicking.  I’d already looked through the boy’s work boots – nothing.  And, the men’s shoes went no smaller than 7 1/2 – two sizes too large for me to wear.

And, they were high tops anyway and I prefer something lower for summer wear.

As I resigned myself to the fact that I would just have to break my promise to Mom or risk it all and just wear flip flops, I shoved aside an L-Cart stacked high with boxes and saw two pairs of women’s steel toed shoes.  One was a boot.  The other was low cut and looked like a walking shoe.

Before I ever tried it on I knew this would be the shoe.  The toe base was high and wide.

I lifted the shoe (it was HEAVY) and examined it…perfect.

A box of size 7s was plucked from the stack below the display shoe and I eagerly began the process of trying it on (sans sock – gasp!).

Daughter watched as I removed the shoes from the box. I slipped my “bad foot” from its flip flop and lifted it to the shoe.  I held my breath.  This right food has suffered many injuries over the years and it’s demanding when it comes to fit.  If I can get the right shoe on without cringing in pain, that’s a good sign.  If I can take three steps without stopping to adjust something, that’s a wonderful sign.

If I can put it on, lace it up, stand, walk, jump, run…that shoe is going home with me – I don’t care how much it costs or what it looks like.

Cautiously and carefully I slipped my bandaged toe into the shoe and held my breath as I pushed it forward and felt my heel slip into place. It felt great!  I wiggled my toes and there was no discomfort, no crowding…all was aaahhhh.

I quickly laced the shoe and stood on it.  I wiggled my toes again.  I walked up and down and then placed the left shoe on my eager foot.  Again, I felt nothing but comfort.

I was in love.  I walked up and down and marveled at the comfort of the shoes (and at how HEAVY they were).  It was quickly decided that they would accompany me home – no matter the price, no matter the color, no matter the weight.

And, they did.

And, a pair of size 11s followed Daughter home, too.  😉

Later that day, I slipped on socks and slipped into the pink lined / pink laced steel-toed shoes and headed out to mow the grass.  The shoes did better than expected.  I was amazed and delighted that a pair of steel-toed shoes would be the answer to my foot misery!

And, no, the weight of the shoes was not a problem.  The only time it was noticed was when I stepped up onto the porch.  But, guess what – stubbing your toes in steel-toed shoes doesn’t hurt.

BUT stubbing your bare toes ON steel-toed shoes does. (Did I mention steel-toed shoes are HEAVY?!?)

Note to self: shove them farther under the bed next time and make sure they are facing heel out and not steel toe out.

 

Leave a Reply

