On Allowing Others to Define Me

How I define myself often echos how others describe me.

That’s wrong on so many levels….

In my 56+ years, I’ve been told I’m

  • odd
  • disconnected
  • uncaring
  • out of place
  • fat
  • weird
  • weak
  • undeserving
  • ignorant
  • Southern
  • white
  • unable
  • out of sync
  • unloveable
  • distant
  • ugly
  • deserving of mistreatment
  • unloved
  • angry
  • unprepared
  • uninteresting
  • loud
  • perverted
  • strange
  • quiet
  • mean
  • lax
  • uninvolved
  • too involved
  • nervous
  • old
  • off in left field
  • biased
  • crazy
  • nerdy
  • a girl
  • driven
  • a fool
  • cruel
  • too easygoing
  • freckled
  • anorexic
  • masculine
  • messy
  • strong for a girl
  • dependable
  • a mystery
  • liberal
  • legalistic
  • stubborn
  • determined
  • uneducated
  • too conservative
  • wonderful
  • greatly loved
  • funny
  • awkward
  • hard working
  • proud
  • lazy
  • independent
  • plain
  • open
  • vulnerable
  • closed-minded

While these terms may have been used by others to describe their thoughts or opinions of me – they don’t define me.

That list above is not me.  And, it does not reflect who I am.  It indicates the opinions of a small number of people scattered throughout my lifetime.

But, often, you and I allow the opinions of a few to dictate how we feel about ourselves and what we hold to be true. (Did you notice how many negative words were listed?)

Think – who are you? What defines you and why?  What’s your identity?  You’re more than others think!

What defines me? Click here and find out.

Leave a Reply

