Peachy Temptation

Just because it looks like a ripe peach, smells like a ripe peach, and feels like a ripe peach is no guarantee that it tastes like a ripe peach.

I had not walked far past the entrance of our local Wal-mart when I smelled the delicious aroma of ripe peaches.

My nose led me to a pile of big, beautiful, peachy peaches.

Wow!  I love fresh peaches.

I bought three and couldn’t wait for that first bite.

And, after I took it, I wished I hadn’t.

…wished I hadn’t bought…bitten…tasted….

Isn’t that the way it often is?

I see what I think I want and when I take it and make it my own, I find that it wasn’t what I thought it was, didn’t satisfy like I hoped it would and wasn’t good like I was certain it would be.

Homegrown goodness can’t be beaten.  And, wholesome desire coupled with foresight and wisdom leads to right choices.

I knew better.  Past experience had taught me all I needed to know, but still…I allowed desire free reign.

And, I was left with a bad taste in my mouth.

Leave a Reply

