Feeling Unimportant

Facebook posts often give others more than just a glimpse into who we are, how we think, and what we believe about ourselves and about others.

The following status update appeared on my timeline.  The title was: feeling unimportant.

Well it seems like no girls want to go out with me it shows that no one likes me for who I am wish that there was a girl out there that would go out with me so that I wouldn’t be so lonely someone to be with me to cheer me up to be there with me and someone to stand by me to make me happy in life
What did you learn about this young man as you read his words?
Have you expressed similar thoughts / needs concerning yourself as he did concerning himself?
  • no one likes me for who I am
  • so that I wouldn’t be so lonely
  • someone to be with me
  • (someone) to cheer me up
  • (someone) to stand by me
  • (someone) to make me happy in life

Unloved – unimportant – lonely – afraid – sad – in need – helpless – alone…we’ve all been there and it’s not a happy place.

Acceptance, companionship, love, support, happiness – that’s not too much to ask from life.

Sometimes, we need to change who we are, and what we do.  Sometimes, we need to just move on and get busy being the best we can be. Sometimes, in going it alone we find strength and confidence. And, sometimes we need to realize that our happiness is not found in others.

Ultimately we are responsible for how we feel and what we do.  But, there’s nothing much better than a friend who knows you and loves you anyway – who makes your world a better place and each day fun to wake up to.

If only we all were that kind of friend!

If you need one…why not be one?

Leave a Reply

