Black Friday

The Black Friday ad for Walmart appeared on my desk mysteriously in my absence yesterday.

And, since its appearance, it has lain here tempting and touting.

EVENT 1 – 6 p.m. Thursday…while supplies last.

EVENT 2 – 8 p.m. Thursday…while supplies last.

EVENT 3 – 6 a.m. Friday…while supplies last.

1-HOUR GUARANTEE in-store only.

If it’s not claimed by the one who placed it there by turkey time today (1 p.m.) I’ll touch it for the first and only time.  And, then only to toss it into the recycle bin.

Black Friday sales do not move me.  And, Thanksgiving day sales certainly do not.

In fact, they put such a sour taste in my mouth that I truly give credence to the idea of spurning those stores that force their employees to work on Thanksgiving and taking my business to stores that honor the same values I do.

Values like – honesty, fairness, traditions, justice, life, freedom, family, faith….

Perhaps having 3 very important people in my life taken from our Thanksgiving celebration family gathering (because big business money grubbers see only the bottom line and not the souls and families of those who get them there) has put a hitch in my get-along.

And, perhaps I am able to see beyond the “gotta get it” mentality that drives some people. And, I’m certainly not going to allow someone who doesn’t know me or care about me to tell me what I want, need, can’t live without, should spend MY money on in THEIR store.

Open that sale paper?  Not a chance.  There’s nothing in it I want or need.  How do I know if I don’t look?  As I sit here and think…absolutely NOTHING comes to mind that I need or even want.  And, the same is true of what I know about those I love.

And, if you think about it…really think about it, the same is probably true of you as well.

What I want and need cannot be bought in a store.

Family.  Friends.  Faith.

Focus on relationships and forget everything else this holiday season.  Money can’t buy happiness, or family, or friends.

Give thanks for what you have.  It’s more than you think.

Happy Thanksgiving!

2 thoughts on “Black Friday

  1. I put the ad on the desk because when bought the broccoli for yesterday at Walmart the sales clerk put it in the bag and I didn’t think it should go in the refrigerator with the bag the broccoli was in. It’s a confusing ad anyway and I’ll admit tempting. Still it reminded me that Solomon said something about vanity and vexation of spirit which holds true as one day someone will have go through all the stuff bought and get rid of it especially when we are gone. What vexation of spirit it is even now as what once was important becomes forgotten stacked in a garage. Not to mention the stuff that makes maneuvering in the tiny house almost impossible as one member of our family is still accumulating stuff!
    Me–take much stock in the Walmart ad and take time to go at the sale event times–not likely! Doing so reminds me of our dear, fondly remembered cat Jasper who thought briefly about jumping up on sometime and walked on by the temptation. I think I will just walk on by the temptation!

    • Oh, one more thought. I still have to take daughter to work and go and get her at 1 o’clock in the morning so that those who cannot pass up on the accumulation of things can conveniently park which means she would have to park in an unsafe place. So, don’t throw away the ad yet I may want to shine my shoes later and it’s the right size too for them.
      ——- Hubby

Leave a Reply

